Rock Dove Landing

I happened to glance up
from my mango chicken
and the face of my friend, laughing

(we were laughing
about my dream
of standing on my tip-toes

to kiss the Beloved,
telling him my mouth was sweet
because I had just eaten chocolate)

and I saw
a rock dove tilt upward
in mid-air

spread wide her wings
to slow herself
and then gently land

on the topmost corner
of a tall, brick building
like a gray angel

with royal purple
shining in her feathers.

Jane Beal
1.22.12 – Spicy Basil, Denver

One response to this post.

  1. Lovely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

