Colorado Birdwatching Today

This morning, I was hiking in Red Rocks Park in Morrison. I saw a lovely little gray bird, a Mountain Chickadee (Poecile gambeli). There were actually two or three, flitting between the green trees. It’s interesting to see the green leaves shining in the light against the red rocks and hear these little birds, singing.

To listen, visit the page dedicated to Mountain Chickadees on All About Birds, scan down, and click on the “typical voice” bar.

Later in the afternoon, my cousin and I drove down to Boulder to visit the Celestial Seasonings Tea Factory, something I’ve wanted to do since I heard about when I first moved to Colorado last year. As we were walking into the Tea Shop, I heard so many birds singing! Several sparrows have made their nests in the nooks and crannies above the Tea Shop entrance. One, a male, made a brief appearance above me, at the top of the stone column behind me. He reminded me of someone I love.

I wondered if the birds had made their nests in that particular place because they liked the smell, the lovely smell of herbal teas milled, mixed and steeped in hot water from choice botanicals and made available in that shop. When I came home and did a little research, it turned out that birds do indeed have a discerning sense of smell! Naturally. (I should not be surprised. House sparrows loved to nest near the lilac that grew in the back patch at my place in Illinois. Of course, the full bird-feeder may have enticed them, too … )


Photo courtesy of Celestial Seasonings

p.s. My cousin T.J. found his own bird, too …

“Nature does not hurry,
yet everything is accomplished.”

Leave a Reply

