Mystery

In the morning,
when I went outside,
I heard the mourning dove
cooing in the green tree.
I felt my peace return to me.

In the afternoon,
I looked out
past the back porch to the green lawn,
and I saw the blue jay—
but only for a moment.

In the evening,
the starlings were cackling
in the front-yard.
They scattered
when I opened the blinds.

Last night, I was dreaming,
but I cannot remember my dream.
Instead I hear two birds singing to one another –
one a complex melody,
the other a single short note.

Their conversation
goes on and on
until I must get up,
thinking that one must be a robin
and the other, a mystery.

Jane Beal
Casita Cody * 17-18 June 2012

Leave a Reply

