“Feasting Robins” by Jane Beal

January in Colorado is a mystery: first the sun, then a sudden snow. On one of the in-between days, I went walking with my dog Joyful down the street. I heard the birdsong before I saw the singers: bright robins in the tree above my head! No leaves had budded, but red berries were hanging thickly from the branch. I watched a robin pluck one off with his beak and swallow it in two gulps! Consider the birds of the air …  How is it possible that you have come back to town so early? In Chicago, I had to wait until February before I could once again enjoy your lively ways.

the same path—

different everyday:

songbird, sing!

Lakewood, CO

Leave a Reply

