Two Days before Christmas

I went outside early in the morning
while it was still dark.
I heard the geese calling overhead,
and I looked up.

I could see their white under-bellies
glimmering in jagged lines
as they flew between distant stars.

Where are you going?
Where have you have been?

I remember a lake in the high, wild country
east of the Rocky Mountains, near Denver,
and how so many of you settled there
with ducks and grebes and egrets,

with the memory of swans and a Great Blue Heron,
with strange flickers sailing across
green park lawns from tree to tree.

Where are you going?
Where have you have been?

Did you come to my eyes from Colorado,
from mountain peaks and snow
that evaporates in sudden sunlight?
Did you come to me from a story?

I remember swans-like-geese
in an African folktale. I remember a lover
who cared to learn his beloved’s mother tongue.

Where are you going?
Where have you have been?

Speak my language, teach me your song,
let me understand the words declared in mid-air,
between heaven and earth,
where stars shine brightly in the cold.

I have been listening all this time.
The hourglass is turned upside down in my heart,
and the salt is in your wings.

jb

SuzyGooseandtheChristmasStar

from Suzy Goose and the Christmas Star

by Peter Horácek

Leave a Reply

